Arabic

التحقيق في كامل الظروف المحيطة بادعاءات حول حادثة قتل غير مشروع على يد القوات البريطانية

التحقيقات الاستقصائية بوفيات العراق هي شكل من أشكال التقصي والتحقيق القضائي.

إنها ليست تقصياً يقوم به طبيب شرعي بموجب القانون، ولا هي تحقيق قانوني. وربما ساعدنا و قلل من حيرتنا أن ينظر إلى عملنا على أنه تحقيق قضائي.

إن عملنا يشمل التحقيق الاستقصائي في الأدلة من أجل الوصول إلى نتائج حول الظروف التي حدثت فيها الوفاة. التحقيقات الاستقصائية في وفيات العراق ليس من أهدافها تقرير مسؤولية جنائية أو مدنية.

التحقيقات الاستقصائية في وفيات العراق بناء على ذلك يجب تمييزها عن التحقيقات الاستقصائية، سواء من قبل الشرطة أو من قبل فريق الاداعاءات التاريخية العراقية، والتي يتم إجراؤها لإقرار ما إذا كان هناك سلوك جنائي. نحن مستقلون تماماً عن فريق الإدعاءات التاريخية العراقية، ونقوم بوظائف مختلفة تماماً.

رئيس (مفتش) التحقيقات الاستقصائية في وفيات العراقهو سير جورج نيومن. 

في نهاية كل تحقيق، يقدم المفتش تقريراً يبين فيه نتائجه، والتقرير يعالج هدفين:

1)                      تقديم رواية سردية للظروف المباشرة التي حدثت فيها الوفاة؛ وكذلك

2)                     النظر بالظروف الأوسع التي حدثت فيها الوفاة وفي أي دروس يجب الإستفادة منها.

 

حالات آنية

تمت إحالة قضية سابعة إلى التحقيقات في وفيات العراق. في 11 نيسان 2003، قامت قوات التحالف باعتقال رجل عراقي اسمه طارق صبري (‘السيد محمود،’ الذي يشار إليه في مواقع أخرى باسم طانق صبري محمود وكذلك طارق صبري محمود (بتهجية مختلفة للحروف اللاتينية) مع عدد من العراقيين الآخرين حيث نقلوا كأسرى حرب إلى نقطة تفتيش غربي العراق قبل أن يتم نقلهم إلى مركز احتجاز مؤقت. ثم نقلوا في مروحيات بريطانية إلى مركز احتجاز أمريكي. لدى وصولهم إلى هناك، أعلن عن وفاة السيد محمود. لايزال وقت وسبب الوفاة غير واضحين. رغم أن تحقيقاً أمريكياً أجريَ في ذلك الوقت، فلم يتم التوصل إلى دليل بحدوث أي عمل غير قانوني، إذ كان هناك ادعاء لاحق بأنه قتل بشكل مخالف للقانون.

وستتوفر وثائق وأدلة إضافية من الموقع الالكتروني في حينه. 

الرجاء ملاحظة أن اسم المتوفي الحقيقي ما زال غير مؤكد حالياً. تأكيد اسم المتوفي سيتم نشره في حينه.            

قضايا منتهية 

النقيب عبد الحسن طالب حسن

يرى المفتش أنه في 17 كانون الأول 2004 أصيب النقيب حسن بطلق ناري أودى بحياته وذلك من قبل دورية تابعة للقوات البريطانية التي أطلقت عدة رصاصات نحو سيارته وفقاً لقواعد الاشتباك، إذ قدرت أن السيارة كانت تمثل خطراً داهماً على حياتهم. وقد توصل المفتش إلى استنتاج بأنه في الوقت الذي راى بعض الجنود أن النقيب حسن كان يمسك بمسدس، فإنه لم يشهر مسدسه في أي وقت أثناء الواقعة. يمكن قراءة كامل التقرير هنا.

التحقيق الاستطلاعي في وفاة السيد علي سلام ناصر

في تقريره المتعلق بوفاة السيد ناصر، توصل المفتش إلى أنه أصيب برصاصة واحدة في الرأس في حي المهندسين بالبصرة في حوالي الساعة 3:30 بعد الظهر يوم 10 نيسان 2007. في ذلك الوقت كانت القوات البريطانية في حالة اشتباك واسع النطاق ضد عملية تمرد أسفرت عن قتال ضار. غير أن المفتش رأى أنه لم يكن بالإمكان تحديد من أطلق النار على السيد ناصر. يمكن قراءة كامل التقرير هنا.

 

أحمد جبار كريم علي

استنتج المفتش في الجزء 1 من تقريره في وفاة السيد أحمد علي ما مفاده أنه بعد اعتقاله على يد عناصر من القوات البريطانية في العراق بسبب أعمال نهب وبينما كان محتجزاً من قبلهم، غرق في قناة شط البصرة يوم 8 أيار 2003. أجبر الجنود السيد علي قسراً على النزول في الماء وأخفقوا في نجدته عندما راح يتخبط مما سبب وفاته.

الجزء 2 من تقرير المفتش سينظر في الظروف الأوسع المحيطة بوفاة السيد علي، بما في ذلك قضايا أي عراقيين آخرين تم الإدعاء بوفاتهم في ظروف مشابهة. سيتضمن ذلك النظر بالمدى الذي ذهبت إليه أية ممارسات تم أثناءها وضع مرتكبي نهب في الماء كرادع أو كعقوبة تناهت إلى علم الرتب العسكرية الأعلى في القيادة أو صودقت من قبلهم. الجزء 2 من التقرير سيتم نشره في صفحة التقارير على موقعنا في الوقت المناسب.

محمد عبد الرضى سالم

التقرير في وفاة السيد سالم توصلت إلى أنه توفي نتيجة إصابة بطلق ناري سدده جندي بريطاني أثناء عملية تفتيش واعتقال جرت يوم 6 تشرين الثاني 2003 حيث تمت مداهمة منزل صهر السيد سالم واسمه محمد زبون استجابة لمعلومات مزيفة قدمها أحد رجال قبيلة كانت على خلاف مع السيد زبون إلى القوات البريطانية. أفادت المعلومات المزيفة بأن أعضاء في أسرة السيد زبون كانوا مسلحين استعداداً للهجوم على قاعدة قريبة تابعة للجيش البريطاني، معسكر شيروكي. لدى اقتحام القوات البريطانية المنزل، كان السيد سالم وإبن أخت السيد زبون مسلحين تحسباً لهجوم ثانٍ على منزلهم من قبل القبيلة المنافسة. أطلق جندي النار على السيد سالم من موقف دفاع عن النفس، ظناً منه أن السيد سالم يمثل تهديداً لحياته وحياة زملائه. يمكن الوصول إلى التقرير الكامل هنا.

نديم عبد الله

إن تقرير المفتش حول وفاة السيد عبد الله توصل إلى استنتاج بأنه توفي متأثراً بضربات على الطرف الأيسر من رأسه سددها جندي بريطاني أو أكثر من جندي يوم 11 أيار 2003. أوقف الجنود السيارة التي كان فيها بعد أن فشلت في التوقف عند نقطة تفتيش للسيارات. التقرير الكامل تجده هنا.

حسن سعيد

وجد المفتش أن السيد سعيد توفي نتيجة للإصابة بعيار ناري تعرض له يوم 2 آب 2003 بعد عراكحاول جنديان بريطانيان خلاله السيطرة عليه. أثناء العراك، اعتقد أحد الجنديين أن السيد سعيد كان يحاول الإمساك ببندقيته و بمسدس زميله ولذلك اطلق النار على السيد سعيد. التقرير الكامل تجده هنا

Home Page

To view this page in Arabic please click here.

للإطلاع على هذه الصفحة باللغة العربية، يرجى الضغط هنا

Inquiring into all the circumstances surrounding allegations of unlawful killing by British forces  

The Iraq Fatality Investigations (IFI) are a form of inquest and judicial inquiry.

They are not a coroner’s inquest which takes place under statute, nor are they a statutory inquiry.  It may be more helpful, and less confusing, for our work to be seen as the work of a judicial inquiry.

Responsive image

Our work involves investigating evidence in order to make findings about the circumstances in which a death has occurred.  The IFI are not concerned with determining criminal or civil liability.    

The IFI are therefore to be distinguished from investigations, whether by the police or by the Iraq Historic Allegations Team (IHAT), which are taken to determine whether or not criminal conduct is involved.  We are entirely separate from the IHAT, with entirely different functions.

The chair (‘Inspector’) of the IFI is Sir George Newman.

At the end of an inquiry, the Inspector produces a report in which he sets out his findings.  The report satisfies two objectives:

1)           Providing a narrative account of the immediate circumstances in which the death occurred; and

2)           An examination of the wider circumstances in which the death occurred and any lessons which should be learned.

Latest News

The Inspector has now concluded his investigations into the deaths of Captain Abdul Hussan Taleb Hassan and Mr Ali Salam Naser.  The reports relating to those investigations can be accessed on the reports page of this site, and are also on the GOV.UK website (https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/iraq-fatalities-investigations-report-into-the-death-of-captain-abdul-hussan-taleb-hassan and https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/iraq-fatalities-investigations-report-into-the-death-of-ali-salam-naser)

On 4th October 2016 the Inspector made a ruling on anonymity which can be accessed here.

The inquiry into the death of Captain Hassan is progressing.   On 27th September 2016 a Skype link took place with the widow and the family and a transcript is available here.  

Part 1 of the report into the circumstances surrounding the death of Mr Ahmed Jabbar Kareem Ali was published on the reports page of this website at 2pm on Thursday 15th September 2016.  As will be seen from the contents Part 2 of the report will follow in due course. 

The Inspector released a public statement on 1st July 2016 regarding media contact with witnesses, which can be accessed here and is also available on the 'Public Statements' page of this website.   

Current cases

Details of further cases will be announced here in due course. 

Concluded cases

Captain Abdul Hussan Taleb Hassan

The Inspector found that on 17 December 2004 Capt Hassan was fatally shot by a UK forces patrol who, perceiving it to present an imminent threat to their lives, fired a number of rounds into his vehicle in accordance with the Rules of Engagement. The Inspector concluded that whilst some of the soldiers perceived Capt Hassan to be holding a gun, he did not take out his pistol at any time during the incident. The full report can be read here.

The investigation into the death of Mr Ali Salam Naser

The Inspector’s report into the death of Mr Naser concluded that he was shot in the head by a single bullet in the Hay Al Muhandiseen neighbourhood of Basra at around 3.30pm on 10 April 2007. At the time UK Forces were engaged in a large-scale counter-insurgency operation resulting in intense fighting. However, the Inspector found that it is not possible to determine by whom Mr Naser was shot. The full report can be read here.

Ahmed Jabbar Kareem Ali

The Inspector concluded in Part 1 of his  report into the death of Mr Ahmed Ali that, having been detained by members of the British Forces in Iraq for looting, and while still in their custody, Mr Ali drowned in the Shatt al Basra canal on 8 May 2003.  The soldiers had forced Mr Ali into the water and failed to go to his assistance when he floundered, thereby causing his death. 

Part 2 of the Inspector’s report will examine the wider circumstances surrounding Mr Ali’s death, including the cases any other Iraqis who allegedly died in similar circumstances. It will include consideration of the extent to which any practice of placing looters into water as a deterrent or punishment was known about and/or sanctioned by the military chain of command.   Part 2 of the report will be published on our reports page in due course.

Muhammad Abdul Ridha Salim

The report into the death of Mr Salim concluded that he died on as a result of being shot by a British soldier during a search and arrest operation on 6 November 2003 which had targeted the house of Mr Salim’s brother-in-law, Mohammed Zuboon, in response to false information provided to British Forces by a member of a tribe involved in a dispute with Mr Zuboon. The false information was to the effect that members of Mr Zuboon’s household were heavily armed and preparing an attack on a nearby British Army base, Camp Cherokee.   When the British Forces forced entry into the house, Mr Salim and Mr Zuboon’s nephew were armed in preparation for a second assault on their home by the rival tribe.  Mr Salim was shot by a soldier who fired in self-defence, believing Mr Salim to present athreat to the life of himself and his colleagues.   The full report can be accessed here.

Nadheem Abdullah

The Inspector's report into the death of Mr Abdullah concluded that he died from a blow or blows to the left side of his head inflicted by one or more British soldiers on 11 May 2003.  The soldiers had stopped the vehicle he was travelling in after it had failed to stop at a vehicle checkpoint.  The full report can be read here.

Hassan Said

The Inspector found that Mr Said died as a result of a gunshot wound sustained on 2 August 2003 following a struggle in which two British soldiers were attempting to restrain him. During the struggle, one of the soldiers believed that Mr Said was attempting to lay hands on both his own rifle and his colleague's pistol, and he therefore shot at Mr Said.  The full report can be read here.